Menachem Mendel The Dreamer, Suite, Op. 105 (1940)

Overture – Dance – The Train – Theme and Variation – Polka

Marc Lavry, Conductor
Kol Israel Symphony Orchestra (The Broadcasting Service Orchestra)

Note: This version (Op. 105) is for Symphonic Orchestra. Menachem Mendel Op. 103 is written for a theatrical play.

Orchestration: 1/pic,1,2,asx,1–2,2,1,1–hp,accordion-timp+2-str

Duration: 15:34 minutes

Publisher: The Marc Lavry Heritage Society

Marc Lavry composed the music for Shalom Aleichem’s play that was premiered by the Ohel Theatre on October 25, 1939.
In 1940 he composed a Suite for Orchestra based on the music he originally wrote for the play.

  • Overture – Business as Usual
  • Dance – Oy, Parnassa (O, Livelihood)
  • The Train – Express in B Minor
  • Theme and Variations:
    The Matchmaker
    The Merrymaker
  • Polka – Menachem Mendel never gives up!

There are no comments yet. Be the first and leave a response!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?