Suite for Cello and Piano, Op. 51 (1938)

Andante – Adagio – Allegro

Recordings: Not yet Available

Solo: Cello

Accompaniment: Piano

Duration: 7 minutes

Publisher: The Marc Lavry Heritage Society

Suite for Cello and Piano, Opus 51, includes three movements:

  • Andante
  • Adagio – Lullaby
  • Allegro

Lavry wrote the composition in 1938, three years after immigrating to Israel. The piece is characterized by two elements:
1. A nod to his European Period, which Lavry abandoned three years earlier (and one year after he wrote the iconic Symphonic Poem Emek).
2. Eastern European Jewish music to which the composer was exposed as a child.

Lavry wrote the Suite for Cello and Piano for his friend, Cellist Joseph Weisgerber, who performed the work immediately after its completion in 1938 at Beit Leviyim (the Levites House) in Tel Aviv. The Levites House was one of the first music schools established in Israel. In the absence of appropriate performance venues at that time, chamber concerts were held at performance halls of music schools. Lavry therefore noted in his opus book: “concert for students (Schulkonzert)”.


The 18th Israeli Music Festival
20 September, 2015 at 6:00pm
Mishkenot Sha’ananim, Jerusalem
Racheli Galay, cello
Ofra Yitzhaki, piano

2014 Jewish Music Now festival
March 10, 2014 at the Felicia Blumental Music Center, Bialik St. 26, Tel Aviv.
Racheli Galay, cello
Daniel Galay, piano

2 Responses to Suite for Cello and Piano, Op. 51 (1938)
  1. Sue Lawson
    June 19, 2013 | 4:22 pm

    Are there parts and a score available for this piece?

    • Orie
      June 19, 2013 | 4:49 pm

      Dear Sue,

      The composition is not currently available in printed format, but we are planning to print it by the end of the year.

      If you’d like to be notified once the score becomes available please email us at



Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?